top of page

Stone Mill Agricultural Museum

The Northern New York Agricultural Historical Society at Stone Mills campus is a blend of historic and new buildings with collections that combine to tell the story of the development of the agricultural industry in Northern New York. The mission is to collect, preserve and display historical materials relating to the farm and the farm home in the region.

The 1837 Union Church, on the National Register of Historic Places, is a beautifully maintained limestone building. Wilford Adams Hall is used for quilt shows and craft demonstrations and has videos on early farm life in the North Country. The 1838 Schoolhouse offers a look into the original one room schoolhouses that were common in many of the communities nearly two hundred years ago. A visit to the Sawmill will provide a look at logging management and woodworking in the mid 1800's. The beautiful pavilion is the perfect setting for old-fashioned barn dances and offers a stage for musical performances.

To make learning about the region's past more fun, a series of special events takes place throughout the spring, summer and fall seasons. From Bluegrass festivals, to draft horse pulls and a juried craft fair, there's something for all ages. Many of these events include olde-time music and demonstrations of 1800's farm equipment. Farmers Boy Days is a step back in time with kids participating hands-on at the farm as children did over 100 years ago. After the work is done, there are games, storytelling, special tours and so much more. 

The facilities are available for private events. Family reunions, weddings, parties and more can be accommodated on this site. 

Additional Info

Name: Stone Mills Agricultural Museum

Phone: 315-658-2353/315-658-4783


Address: 30950 NYS Route 180 LaFargeville, NY 13656


bottom of page